The Nobel Prize in Physics 2013

nobel 2013

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2013 was awarded jointly to François Englert and Peter W. Higgs "for the theoretical discovery of a mechanism that contributes to our understanding of the origin of mass of subatomic particles, and which recently was confirmed through the discovery of the predicted fundamental particle, by the ATLAS and CMS experiments at CERN's Large Hadron Collider" (

Local news:

Cinvestav group at CMS is formed by:

Heriberto Castilla Alberto Sánchez Eduard de la Cruz Ricardo López Ivan Heredia

Jhovanny Mejía Iraq Rabadan Rogelio Reyes Cecilia Duran Gabriel Ramírez Mateo Ramírez

They are also part of the CMS collaboration:

Universidad Iberoamericana:
Salvador Carrillo Moreno and Elsa Vázquez Valencia.

Universidad Autónoma de Puebla
Humberto Salazar Ibargüen, María Pedraza Morales, Bernardino Carpinteyro.

Universidad Autónoma de San Luis Potosí
Antonio Morelos Pineda.

Department of Physics CINVESTAV-IPN Av. IPN 2508 Colonia San Pedro Zacatenco Mexico City 07360