Superficies y Vacío
Preparación del Manuscrito

Resúmen Curricular

Professor J.E. Greene

Joe Greene is the Director of the Frederick Seitz Materials Research Laboratory and the Donald Willett Professor of Materials Science at the University of Illinois and the Tage Erlander Professor of Materials Physics at Linköping University, Sweden. The focus of his research has been the development of an atomic-level understanding of adatom/surface interactions during the dynamic process of vapor-phase crystal growth in order to controllably manipulate microchemistry, microstructure, and, hence, physical properties. His work has involved film growth by all forms of sputter deposition, solid and gas-source MBE, UHV-CVD, MOCVD, and ALE. Joe has published more than 350 papers and review articles, 18 book chapters, and co-edited 4 books in the general areas of crystal growth, thin-film physics, and surface science. In particular, he has used energetic accelerated condensing species and UV photochemistry for probing as well as stimulating surface reactions that do not proceed thermally. Joe has presented 290 invited talks and 25 Plenary Lectures at international meetings.

He is currently Editor-in-Chief of Thin Solid Films and past Editor of CRC Critical Reviews in Solid State and Materials Sciences. He is active in the AVS where he has served on the Trustees, as Chairman of the Thin Film Division, twice as a member of the Board of Directors, was President of the society in 1989, and is currently Secretary. He has also Chaired the Thin Film Division, and is currently Education Chair, of the International Union of Vacuum Science and Techniques, on the Executive Committee of the APS Division of Materials Physics, has served on the Governing Board of the American Institute of Physics, and is presently on the Executive Committee of the Materials Physics Division of the APS.
 Major awards include:
the John Thornton Award (1991) from the AVS for "outstanding research in thin films,"
the Tage Erlander Award (1991) from the Swedish Natural Science Research Council for "contributions to the physics and chemistry of thin films,"
Senior University of Illinois Scholar (1991) for "distinction as a member of the faculty",
Honorary Doctor of Science in Materials Physics (1992) from Linköping Univ. (Sweden),
Fellow of the American Vacuum Society (1993) for "outstanding research in thin film science with emphasis on the use of ion/surface interactions and photo-induced reactions to controllably alter film nucleation and growth kinetics,"
Technical Excellence Award from the Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC) for "outstanding research contributions in the development of low-energy accelerated-ion doping during MBE Si and Si1?xGex film growth" (1994),
1996 DOE Award for Sustained Outstanding Research on "growth of new metastable nitride-based ceramic alloys, superlattices, and multilayers with enhanced properties,"
1998 David Adler Award in Materials Physics from the American Physical Society for "outstanding research and lecturing on the physics and chemistry of thin films,
1998 Aristotle Award from SRC for "career achievement in outstanding graduate student teaching in its broadest sense; including innovation in student advising, instilling students with a love and respect for science, teaching students to carry out research at the highest level, contributing to student maturation and professional development, and continuing to impact student careers following graduation,"
Fellow of the American Physical Society (1998) for "original contributions to the experimental development, modeling, and understanding of Si, Ge, and Si1-xGex atomic-layer epitaxy and gas-source molecular-beam epitaxy,"
AVS Distinguished Lecturer (1998/99),
First D.B. Willett Professor of Engineering (1999), University of Illinois, and
David Turnbull Award, Materials Research Society (1999), for "contributions to the use of non-thermal methods in the growth of thin films and the engineering of their phase, composition and microstructure; and for excellence in teaching and writing."

Información General
Formato del  Resumen
Información para Exhibidores